Roussel / Sherr Lab Trainees (St. Jude 1983-2014)



Martine Roussel, PhD faculty bio

Charles Sherr, MD, PhD faculty bio

Name

Dates

Present Position

Carl W. Rettenmier, MD, PhD
Sr. Research Associate /
Asst. Member
1983-1987 (Deceased)
Previous: Dept. of Pathology
Children's Hospital of Los Angeles
University of Southern California School of Medicine
Los Angeles, California
Mary H. Walker, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1984-1987 Program Replication Manager
UTeach Institute
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas  78712
mwalker@austin.utexas.edu
Wayne L. Furman, MD
Clinical Fellow
1984-1987 Full Member, Solid Tumor Division
Dept. of Oncology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, Tennessee 38105
wayne.furman@stjude.org
Esther F. Wheeler, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1985-1988 (To July 2005)
Associate Professor, Dept. of Biology
University of Texas, San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas  78249
Jean-Michel Heard, PhD
Visiting Associate Scientist
1986-1987 Director
Retrovirus and Genetic Transfer Unit
Dept. of Neuroscicence
Institut Pasteur
75015 Paris, France
jmheard@pasteur.fr
Masahiro Ohtsuka, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1987-1989 Sr. Scientist
Tsukuba Life Science Center
Tsukuba, Japan
Gary Borzillo, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1987-1991 Senior Research Investigator
Pharmaceutical Division, Oncogene Science
Uniondale, New York 11553
gborzillo@oncogene.com
Jun-ya Kato, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1988-1995 Professor, Molecular Genetics
Nara Institute of Science & Technology
8916-5 Takayama, Ikoma, Nara 630-0129 Japan
jkata@bs.naist.jp
Sheila A. Shurtleff, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1988-1993 Director, Molecular Pathology
Department of Pathology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, Tennessee  38105
sheila.shurtleff@stjude.org
Ted van Daalen Wetters, PhD
Associate Scientist
1989-1991 Science Teacher
Oceana High School
401 Paloma Avenue
Pacifica, California 94044
tedlisa1@aol.com
Hitoshi Matsushime, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1989-1992 Professor, Molecular Biology
Hamamatsu University School of Medicine
Tsukuba-City, Ibaraki 305-8585, Japan
hitoshi.matsushime@jp.astrellas.com
Susan Vallance-Watson, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1990-1994 Scientific Editor & Medical Writer
Founder, Obsidia Communications LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut  06410
obsidia@cox.net
Horng-Mo Lee, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1991-1992 President
Central Taiwan University of Science and Technology
666, Pu-Tzu Road, Pei-tun District
40601 Taichung, Taiwan
leehorng@ctust.edu.tw
David Strom, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1991-1993 Associate Dean for Research &
Director, Biomedical Sciences
Des Moines University
Des Moines, Iowa 50312
david.strom@DMU.edu
Nathan J. Davis, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1991-1995 Associate Professor
Biomedical Sciences (Teaching Biochemistry)
Quinnpiac University
Nathan.Davis@quinnipac.edu
Masaaki Matsuoka, MD, PhD Postdoctoral Fellow 1992-1994 Professor and Chair
Dept. of Pharmacology
Tokyo Medical University
Tokyo 160-8402, Japan
pharmaco@tokyo-med.ac.jp
Hiroshi Hirai, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1993-1996 Director, Molecular Target Drug Discovery
Drug Discovery Research Center
Tsukuba, Ibaraki 300-2611, Japan
hiroshi-hirai@taiho.co.jp
Dawn E. Quelle, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1993-1996 Professor, Dept. of Pharmacology
University of Iowa College of Medicine
Iowa City, Iowa 52242
dawn-quelle@uiowa.edu
Frederique Zindy, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1994-1998 Staff Scientist (Sherr-Roussel Lab)
Dept. of Tumor Cell Biology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, Tennessee  38105
frederique.zindy@stjude.org
Takehiko Kamijo, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1994-1998 Head, Dept. of Biochemistry & Molecular Carcinogenesis
Chiba Cancer Research Institute
Chiba 260-8717, Japan
tkamijo@chiba-cc.jp
Masashi Adachi, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1995-1997 Director, Mizuno Hospital
Osaka City, Osaka 55535-5005 Japan
mdachi@silver.ocn.ne.pj
J. Alan Diehl, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1995-1999 Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Endowed Professor of Lipidomics and Pathobiology
Associate Director of Basic Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina
Hollings Cancer Center
26 Jonathan Lucas Street
Charleston, SC 29425
diehl@musc.edu
Mangeng Cheng, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1995-1999 In vitro Pharmacology Lead
Merck Research Laboratory
BMB 11-138, 33, Avenue Louis Pasteur
Boston, MA 02115
mcheng@cephalon.com
Veronika Sexl, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1996-1998 Professor, Pharmacology & Toxicology
University of Veterinary Medicine
A1210 Vienna, Austria
veronica.sexl@vetmeduni.ac.at
Sachin S. Jogal, MD
Clinical Fellow
1996-1998 Assistant Professor
Dept. of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI  53226
Jason D. Weber, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1997-2001 Associate Professor, Dept. of Medicine
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
JWEBER@DOM.wustl.edu
Kazushi Inoue, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1997-2002 Research Lab Specialist
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
David Randle, PhD
Graduate Student
1997-2002 Global Applications Manager
Coming Life Sciences
Kennebunk, Maine 04039
randleh@corning.com
Willem den Besten
Undergraduate Student
Graduate Student
Post-Doctoral Student
1998-2008 Senior Research Associate
Genentech
San Francisco, CA
Anja Groth, PhD
Master of Science Student
1999-2000 Associate Professor
Biotech Research & Innovation Center
2200 Copenhagen, Denmark
Anja.Groth@bric.ku.dk
Joanne Doherty, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1999-2001 Staff Scientist, Dept. of Cancer Biology
Scripps Research Institute
Jupiter, Florida
jdoherty@scripps.edu
Jinjun Dang, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1999-2001 Staff Scientist, Dept. of Pathology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, Tennessee 38105
jinjun.dang@stjude.org
Christopher Conn, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2001-2002 Manager, New Product Planning
Myriad Genetics
Lisa Nilsson, PhD
Graduate Student
2001-2004 Postdoctoral Scientist
Sahlgrenska Cancer Center
Department of Surgery
Institute of Clinical Sciences
University of Gothenburg
SE-405 30 Gothenburg Sweden
lisa.m.nilsson@surgery.gu.se

Phone: 46-31-786-6768
David Bertwistle, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2001-2005 Developmental Biology Research Center
Randall Institute, King's College
London WC2B 5RL, UK
davidbertwistle@mac.com
Masataka Sugimoto, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2001-2005 Section Chief, Dept. of Biochemistry
National Institute for Longevity Sciences
Aichi 474-8511, Japan
msugimoto@nils.go.jp
Kenji Tago, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2002-2006 Assistant Professor
Div. of Structural Biochemistry, Dept. of Biochemistry
Jichi Medical University
3311-1 Yakushiji, Shimotsuke, Tochigi, 329-0498, JAPAN
ktago@jichi.ac.jp
Richard T. Williams, MBBS, PhD
Clinical Fellow
2002-2006 Senior Medical Director
Puma Biotechnology, Inc.
10880 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 2150
Los Angeles, California 90024
Mei-Ling Kuo, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2003-2008 Assistant Professor, Molecular Pharmacology
City of Hope
Duarte, California 91010
mkuo@coh.org
Tamar Uziel, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2003-2008 Senior Scientist, Level III
Cancer Marker Group
Oncology Discovery, Abbvie
Abbott Laboratories
Abbott Park, Illinois 60064
tamar.uziel@abbott.com
Antoine Forget, PhD
Graduate Student
2004-2008 Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr. Olivier Ayrault Laboratory
Institut Curie
Orsay Cedex, France
forget_antoine@hotmail.com
Haotian Zhao, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2004-2010 Assistant Professor, Dept. of Pediatrics
Sanford Children's Health Research Center
Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57104
zhaoha@sanfordhealth.org
Adam Gromley, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2005-2010 Assistant Professor of Cell and Molecular Biology
Lincoln Memorial University
Knoxville, TN
Olivier Ayrault, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2005-2010 Assistant Professor
Institut Curie/ CNRS UMR 3306/ INSERM U1005 Bldg. 110, Centre Universitaire
91405 Orsay Cedex, France
olivier.ayrault@curie.fr
Mary Thomas, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2006-2009 Program Officer
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
Mary.Thomas@gatesfoundation.org
Emmanuel Volanakis, MD
Clinical Fellow
2006-2010 Instructor in Pediatrics
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, Tennessee 37232
emmanuel.j.volanakis@vanderbilt.edu
Michelle Churchman, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2007-2011 Staff Scientist
Department of Pathology
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Memphis, Tennessee
Michelle.churchman@stjude.org
Karen Vrijens
Postdoctoral Fellow
2008-2012 Postdoctoral Scientist
University of Uhasselt
Liege, Belgium