St. Jude recognizes volunteers

2004 ALSAC Volunteer Awards

John Moses, former chair of the St. Jude Board of Governors (left)
and Board member Donald Mack, MD, (right) present the Michael F.
Tamer Award to George Rodgers for his work on the very first
Dream Home campaign, which is now conducted around the country.

Each year, ALSAC/St. Jude thanks a number of groups, corporations and volunteers who play a vital role in the life-saving mission of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and recognizes them for their dedication to St. Jude.
Individuals and groups who have served as key supporters of St. Jude were honored at a Saturday dinner attended by the ALSAC St. Jude Boards of Directors and Governors and ALSAC staff members from around the country who work directly with them on behalf of the hospital's mission of finding cures and saving children.
"Each year, thousands of volunteers around the country give their time and energy to help St. Jude in its quest to eradicate childhood cancer," said ALSAC Chief Executive Officer Richard C. Shadyac. "In honoring these individuals and organizations this evening we recognize the volunteer spirit that has filled so many people throughout this country in helping make Danny Thomas' dream a reality. It is the volunteers and donors who make it possible for the successes St. Jude has had in treating childhood catastrophic diseases."
Those honored helped coordinate or participate in a wide range of fund-raising programs or events. They were thanked and awarded special recognition plaques for their outstanding service on behalf of St. Jude.

Those recognized included:

Michael F. Tamer Award (Bestowed on an individual who has shown a lasting and abiding committment to St. Jude and its patients)
George Rodgers

Jerry Nicholson Award (Named for an early St. Jude patient, this honor is awarded to a young person, often a patient, who has contributed significantly to fund-raising efforts during the past year.)
Katelyn Atwell

Volunteer Group of the Year
Dream Home Committee of Lansing, Michigan
Dream Home Builder of the Year
Mark Wilbur
Modesto, California
Up 'til Dawn Campus of the Year
Villanova University
Villanova, Pennsylvania

Corporate Partner of the Year
Cleo, Inc.
Memphis, Tennessee

Golf Tournament of the Year
Reo and Sondra Campian

Tri Delta Award
Vanderbilt Chapter
Nashville, Tennessee

Math-A-Thon Coordinator of the Year
Sandra Fortunoff
Port Jefferson Station, New York

Bike-A-Thon Coordinator of the Year
Glenda Daigle
Paincourtville, Louisiana

Saddle Up Coordinator of the Year
Rita Faulk
Washington, Michigan

Group Recognition

Epsilon Sigma Alpha
Rosalie Griffith
ESA International Council President

Alpha Delta Kappa
Janeen Anderson
International Executive Board Chairman

Roadway Express
Bill Harvey
Roadway District 9 Manager

August 2004
If you would like to comment on this article, click here.