About the University of Tennessee Health Science Center

The Department of Pediatrics at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UT) has pediatric faculty located at four sites in close proximity: Le Bonheur Children's Hospital, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, The Regional Medical Center at Memphis (The MED), and the Boling Center for Developmental Disabilities. The department currently has a faculty of more than 100 members (55 full-time members and more than 45 members affiliated with St. Jude, the College of Pharmacy, and others), and its faculty is involved in collaborative research activities with scientists in the basic science departments at UT and at St. Jude, as well as with the major clinical departments at UT. All major subspecialties are represented. Under the leadership of the chairman, Jon McCullers, MD, five endowed Chairs of Excellence have been filled with pediatric scientists. The CCFRC was completed in 1994 as part of the $50 million expansion of the Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital. This space complements the laboratories already in existence at St. Jude, The MED, the Boling Center for Developmental Disabilities, and the E.K. Coleman Research Facility on the UT Campus. The Pediatric residency programs at the University of Tennessee involve approximately 85 residents. Roughly half of these residents are Pediatrics residents, and the other half are Medicine/Pediatrics residents.

The Pediatric Pharmacology Research Unit at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center is one of six pediatric academic institutions in a national network set up by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). This program is also supported by the Center for Excellence in Pediatric Pharmacokinetics and Therapeutics (CPPT). The goal of these programs is to expand the current knowledge of differences in drug disposition and effects in children, to develop comprehensive therapeutic strategies for pediatric patients, and to increase the number and variety of drugs that have been approved by the FDA for use in children. Sixteen participating faculty members, including members of the Infectious Disease Division at the University of Tennessee, are investigators. Opportunities for fellows to participate in clinical research through the program can be arranged.