Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS)

A course in the American Heart Association’s Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) is available at St. Jude.

The ACLS course is designed to teach the knowledge and skills necessary to assess and manage the first 10 minutes of an adult cardiac arrest.

To successfully complete the course, the student must learn to manage 10 core ACLS cases:

  • A respiratory emergency
  • Four types of cardiac arrest
    • Simple Ventricular fibrillation/Ventricular tachycardia (VF/VT)
    • Complex VF/VT
    • Pulseless Electrical Activity (PEA)
    • Asystole
  • Four types of pre-arrest emergencies
    • Bradycardia
    • Stable tachycardia
    • Unstable tachycardia
    • Acute coronary syndromes
  • Stroke