Skip to main content

Advisory Boards

  1. The Scientific Advisory Board is an autonomous panel of renowned physicians and scientists who help foster the medical and scientific development of St. Jude, providing guidance and insight on research directions, clinical activities and institutional policy.


    Kimberly Stegmaier, MD - Chair
    Ted Williams Investigator, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Vice Chair of Pediatric Oncology Research, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Co-Director of Pediatric Hematologic Malignancies Program, Dana-Farber and Boston Children’s Hospital
    Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
    Institute Member, Broad Institute
    Boston, MA

    Smita Bhatia, MD, MPH
    Gay and Bew White Endowed Chair in Pediatric Oncology
    Professor, Pediatric Oncology
    Vice Chair for Outcomes Research, Department of Pediatrics
    Director, Institute for Cancer Outcomes and Survivorship
    University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine

    Birmingham, AL

    David Ginsburg, MD
    James V. Neel Distinguished University Professor
    Departments of Internal Medicine, Human Genetics, and Pediatrics
    Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    University of Michigan Medical School
    Life Sciences Institute
    Ann Arbor, MI

    Mary K. Gospodarowicz, MD, FRCPC, FRCR (Hon)
    University Professor, University of Toronto
    Consultant, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
    Toronto, Ontario

    Nathanael S. Gray, PhD
    Member, ChEM-H
    Program Leader, Small Molecule Drug Discovery for the Innovative Medicines Accelerator
    Co-Director, Cancer Drug Discovery
    Co-Leader, Cancer Therapeutics Research Program
    Krishnan-Shah Family Professor, Chemical and Systems Biology
    Stanford University
    Stanford, CA


    Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD
    Professor and Chair
    Department of Radiation Oncology
    Brigham and Women's Hospital
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston Children’s Hospital
    Harvard Medical School
    Boston, MA

    John Kuriyan, PhD
    Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and of Molecular & Cell Biology
    University of California
    Berkeley, CA

    John M. Maris, MD - Vice Chair
    Giulio D’Angio Professor of Pediatric Oncology
    Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
    Division of Oncology
    Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
    Philadelphia, PA

    Sallie R. Permar, MD, PhD
    Pediatrician-in-Chief, New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center
    Nancy C. Paduano Professor and Chair, Department of Pediatrics
    Professor of Immunology and Microbial Pathogenesis, Graduate School of Medical Sciences  
    Weill Cornell Medicine
    New York, NY

     Rob Pieters, MD, PhD
    Board of Directors, Chief Medical Officer
    Princess Maxima Center for Pediatric Oncology


    Stanley R. Riddell, MD
    Burke O’Reilly Family Endowed Chair in Immunotherapy
    Professor, Department of Medicine
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
    Seattle, WA

    Michael K. Rosen, PhD
    Chair, Department of Biophysics
    Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Dallas, TX

    Joshua R. Sanes, PhD 
    Jeff C. Tarr Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
    Founding Director, Center for Brain Science
    Harvard University
    Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
    Cambridge, MA

    Kevin M. Shannon, MD
    American Cancer Society Research Professor
    Roma and Marvin Auerback Distinguished Professorship in Pediatric Molecular Oncology
    University of California at San Francisco
    Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, CA

     Sarah A. Teichmann, FMedSci FRS
    Head of Cellular Genetics
    Senior Group Leader
    Wellcome Sanger Institute
    Hinxton, Cambridgeshire
    United Kingdom

  2. Scott A. Armstrong, MD, PhD
    Chairman, Department of Pediatric Oncology
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

    Edward (Ed) Chu, MD
    Director, Albert Einstein Cancer Center
    Vice-President of Cancer Medicine, Montefiore Medicine
    Roger and Carol Einiger Professor of Cancer Medicine
    Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology
    Albert Einstein College of Medicine

    Eric Fearon, MD, PhD
    Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine, Human Genetics, and Pathology
    Director, University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center
    Emanuel N. Maisel Professor of Oncology

    Beverly Ginsburg-Cooper
    Senior Director & Cancer Center Service Team Lead
    Huron Consulting Group

    Stephen Hunger, MD
    Professor of Pediatrics
    Associate Dir. (Pediatric Research), Abramson Cancer Ctr.
    University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
    Chief, Division of Pediatric Oncology
    Director, Center for Childhood Cancer Research
    Jeffrey E. Perelman Distinguished Chair in the Dep of Pediatrics
    Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

    Arnold Kriegstein, MD, PhD
    Director, Developmental and Stem Cell Biology Program
    UCSF School of Medicine

    Michelle LeBeau, PhD
    Chief Scientific Officer
    Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas


    Scott W. Lowe, PhD
    Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Chair, Cancer Biology & Genetics Program
    Chair, Geoffrey Beene Cancer Research Center
    Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

    Stephen D. Nimer, MD
    Director, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Oscar de la Renta Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
    Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
    University of Miami Health System

    Stanley Riddell, MD
    Prof., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Ctr
    Department of Medicine, University of Washington

    Kevin M. Shannon, MD
    Professor, Department of Pediatrics, UCSF

    Paul M. Sondel, MD, PhD
    Walker Professor of Pediatrics, Human Oncology, Director of Research
    UW Carbone Cancer Center and American Family Children’s Hospital
    University of Wisconsin

    Cornelia M. Ulrich, MS, PhD (Neli)
    Executive Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center at Huntsman Cancer Institute
    Jon M. and Karen Huntsman Presidential Professor in Cancer Research
    Professor, Department of Population Health Sciences, University of Utah

    Brenda Weigel, MD, MSc
    Division Director, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
    University of Minnesota
    Associate Director, Cancer Experimental Therapeutics Initiative & Co-Director Sarcoma Program
    Masonic Cancer Center
    Pediatric Hematology/Oncology