Sherr-Roussel / Roussel-Sherr Lab Trainees

View Current Lab Personnel

Name Dates Present Position
Carl W. Rettenmier, MD, PhD
Sr. Research Associate/ Assistant Member
(Deceased)
1983-1987 Previous: Department of Pathology
Children's Hospital of Los Angeles
University of Southern California School of Medicine
Los Angeles, California
Mary H. Walker, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1984-1987 Program Replication Manager
UTeach Institute
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas  78712
mwalker@austin.utexas.edu
Wayne L. Furman, MD
Clinical Fellow
1984-1987 Full Member, Solid Tumor Division
Department of Oncology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, Tennessee 38105
wayne.furman@stjude.org
Esther F. Wheeler, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1985-1988 Associate Professor, Department of Biology (to 7/05)
University of Texas
San Antonio, Texas  78249
Jean-Michel Heard, PhD
Visiting Associate Scientist
1986-1987 Director, Retrovirus and Genetic Transfer Unit
Department of Neuroscience
Institut Pasteur
75015 Paris, France
jmheard@pasteur.fr
Masahiro Ohtsuka, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1987-1989 Senior Scientist
Tsukuba Life Science Center
Tsukuba, Japan
Gary Borzillo, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1987-1991 Senior Research Investigator, Pharmaceutical Division
Oncogene Science
Uniondale, New York 11553
gborzillo@oncogene.com
Jun-ya Kato, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1988-1995 Professor, Molecular Genetics
Nara Institute of Science & Technology
8916-5 Takayama, Ikoma, Nara 630-0129 Japan
jkata@bs.naist.jp
Sheila A. Shurtleff, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1988-1993 Director, Molecular Pathology
Department of Pathology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
sheila.shurtleff@stjude.org
Ted van Daalen Wetters, PhD
Associate Scientist
1989-1991 Science Teacher
Oceana High School
401 Paloma Avenue
Pacifica, California 94044
tedlisa1@aol.com
Hitoshi Matsushime, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1989-1992 Professor, Molecular Biology
Hamamatsu University School of Medicine
Tsukuba-City, Ibaraki 305-8585, Japan
hitoshi.matsushime@jp.astrellas.com
Susan Vallance-Watson, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1990-1994 Scientific Editor and Medical Writer
Founder, Obsidia Communications LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut  06410
obsidia@cox.net
Horng-Mo Lee, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1991-1992 President
Central Taiwan University of Science and Technology
666, Pu-Tzu Road, Pei-tun District
40601 Taichung, Taiwan
leehorng@ctust.edu.tw
David Strom, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1991-1993 Associate Dean for Research and Director, Biomedical Sciences
Des Moines University
Des Moines, Iowa 50312
david.strom@dmu.edu
Nathan J. Davis, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1991-1995 Associate Professor, Biomedical Sciences (Teaching Biochemistry)
Quinnpiac University
nathan.davis@quinnipac.edu
Masaaki Matsuoka, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1992-1994 Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Tokyo Medical University
Tokyo 160-8402, Japan
pharmaco@tokyo-med.ac.jp
Hiroshi Hirai, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1993-1996 Director, Molecular Target Drug Discovery
Drug Discovery Research Center
Tsukuba, Ibaraki 300-2611, Japan
hiroshi-hirai@taiho.co.jp
Dawn E. Quelle, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1993-1996 Professor, Department of Pharmacology
University of Iowa College of Medicine
Iowa City, Iowa 52242
dawn-quelle@uiowa.edu
Frederique Zindy, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1994-1998 Staff Scientist, Department. of Tumor Cell Biology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
frederique.zindy@stjude.org
Takehiko Kamijo, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1994-1998 Head, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Carcinogenesis
Chiba Cancer Research Institute
Chiba 260-8717, Japan
tkamijo@chiba-cc.jp
Masashi Adachi, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1995-1997 Director, Mizuno Hospital
Osaka City, Osaka 55535-5005 Japan
mdachi@silver.ocn.ne.pj
J. Alan Diehl, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1995-1999 Professor, Department of Cell Biology
Endowed Professor of Lipodomics and Pathobiology
Associate Professor of Basic Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina
Hollings Cancer Center
26 Jonathan Lucas Street
Charleston, SC  29425
diehl@musc.edu
Mangeng Cheng, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1995-1999 In vitro Pharmacology Lead
Merck Research Laboratory
BMB 11-138, 33, Avenue Louis Pasteur
Boston, MA 02115
mcheng@cephalon.com
Veronika Sexl, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1996-1998 Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology
University of Veterinary Medicine
A1210 Vienna, Austria
veronica.sexl@vetmeduni.ac.at
Sachin S. Jogal, MD
Clinical Fellow
1996-1998 Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI  53226
Jason D. Weber, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1997-2001 Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
jweber@dom.wustl.edu
Kazushi Inoue, MD, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1997-2002 Research Lab Specialist
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
David Randle, PhD
Graduate Student
1997-2002 Global Applications Manager
Coming Life Sciences
Kennebunk, Maine 04039
randleh@corning.com
Willem den Besten, PhD
Undergraduate Student
Graduate Student
Postdoctoral Student
1998-2008 Senior Research Associate
Genentech
San Francisco, CA
Anja Groth, PhD
Master of Science Student
1999-2000 Associate Professor
Biotech Research & Innovation Center
2200 Copenhagen, Denmark
anja.groth@bric.ku.dk
Joanne Doherty, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1999-2001 Staff Scientist, Department of Cancer Biology
Scripps Research Institute
Jupiter, Florida
jdoherty@scripps.edu
Jinjun Dang, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
1999-2001 Staff Scientist, Department of Pathology
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
jinjun.dang@stjude.org
Christopher Conn, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2001-2002 Manager, New Product Planning
Myriad Genetics
Lisa Nilsson, PhD
Graduate Student
2001-2004 Postdoctoral Scientist, Department of Surgery
Sahlgrenska Cancer Center, Institute of Clinical Sciences
University of Gothenburg
SE-405 30 Gothenburg, Sweden
lisa.m.nilsson@surgery.gu.se
Phone: 46-31-786-6768
David Bertwistle, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2001-2005 Developmental Biology Research Center
Randall Institute, King's College
London WC2B 5RL, UK
davidbertwistle@mac.com
Masataka Sugimoto, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2001-2005 Section Chief, Department of Biochemistry
National Institute for Longevity Sciences
Aichi 474-8511, Japan
msugimoto@nils.go.jp
Kenji Tago, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2002-2006 Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry
Division of Structural Biochemistry
Jichi Medical University
3311-1 Yakushiji, Shimotsuke, Tochigi, 329-0498, Japan
ktago@jichi.ac.jp
Richard T. Williams, MBBS, PhD
Clinical Fellow
2002-2006 Senior Medical Director
Puma Biotechnology, Inc.
10880 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 2150
Los Angeles, California  91320
Mei-Ling Kuo, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2003-2008 Assistant Professor, Molecular Pharmacology
City of Hope
Duarte, California  91010
mkuo@coh.org
Tamar Uziel, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2003-2008 Senior Scientist, Level III
Cancer Marker Group
Oncology Discovery, Abbvie
Abbott Laboratories
Abbott Park, Illinois 60064
tamar.uziel@abbott.com
Antoine Forget, PhD
Graduate Student
2004-2008 Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr. Olivier Ayrault Laboratory
Institut Curie
Orsay Cedex, France
forget_antoine@hotmail.com
Haotian Zhao, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2004-2010 Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Sanford Children's Health Research Center
Sioux Falls, South Dakota  57104
zhaoha@sanfordhealth.org
Adam Gromley, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2005-2010 Associate Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine
Lincoln Memorial University
Knoxville, TN
Olivier Ayrault, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2005-2010 Assistant Professor
Institut Curie/CNRS UMR 3306/INSERM U1005 Bldg. 110, Centre Universitaire
91405 Orsay Cedex, France
olivier.ayrault@curie.fr
Mary Thomas, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2006-2009 Program Officer
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
mary.thomas@gatesfoundation.org
Emmanuel Volanakis, MD
Clinical Fellow
2006-2010 Instructor in Pediatrics
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, Tennessee 37232
emmanuel.j.volanakis@vanderbilt.edu
Michelle Churchman, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2007-2011 Staff Scientist, Department of Pathology
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
michelle.churchman@stjude.org
Karen Vrijens
Postdoctoral Fellow
2008-2012 Postdoctoral Scientist
University of Uhasselt
Liege, Belgium
Daisuke Kawauchi, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2009-2013 Head of Subgroup "Animal Models for Embryonal Brain Tumors"
German Cancer Research Center, Division of Pediatric Neuro-Oncology
Heidelberg, Germany
d.kawauchi@dkfz-heidelberg.de
Sadhana Jackson, MD
Clinical Fellow
2001-2013 Pediatric Neuro-Ocology/Clinical Pharmacology Research Fellow, Brain Cancer Program
David H. Koch Cancer Research Building II, Room 1M16
1550 Orleans Street
Baltimore, MD 21287
sjacks78@jhmi.edu
Future Position: Assistant Clinical Investigator, NCI
Neuro-Oncology Branch and joint faculty appointment
Johns Hopkins Neurology Hospital
Marie Morfouace, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
2011-2015 Senior Scientist, Cancer Research Technology
Cambridge, United Kingdom